Who builds websites for UK tradesmen? Nine compared on price and ownership

I spent this morning reading the pricing pages of nine companies that will build a website for a British tradesman. Two of them do not publish a price at all. Not a range, not a starting figure, nothing. You book a call and find out.

The trade specialists that do publish sit between £45 and £69 a month, or £750 to £1,250 as a one-off build. Those numbers are close enough together to look like a market that has settled on a price. It has not. Add the setup fees and the minimum terms and year one runs from £588 to £1,030 for what is broadly the same five-page site. Then there is Yell, whose cheapest published door to a website is £299 a month, an order of magnitude away from everyone else on the list.

And the term that varies most is not printed on any of the nine pages in figures at all. It is what happens to the website if you leave.

Quick answer

Nine UK companies build websites for tradespeople. Seven publish a price, between £45 and £69 a month or £750 one-off among the trade specialists, and from £299 a month at Yell. Two publish nothing. Year one runs from £588 to £1,030 across the specialists once setup fees are counted. The bigger difference is ownership: at least one transfers no website files if you cancel inside twelve months.

The nine, and what a year actually costs

Every figure below was read from the provider's own published page on 25 August 2026, and year one is the advertised monthly fee multiplied out plus any setup fee, which is a number none of the nine publish themselves.

I have put them in order of year-one cost, cheapest first, with the three that publish nothing at the bottom where they belong. My own plan is in the table because leaving it out would be dishonest, not because it wins.

Provider and planAdvertisedSetupYear oneYear three
Digital Tradies
Standard, up to 5 pages
£49 / month£0 upfront£588£1,764
MyTradeSite
Single plan
£49 / month£0£588£1,764
TRADESON
Managed monthly
£45 / month£99 build£639£1,719
Sitework
Website plan, what I do
£50 / 4 weeksNo build fee£650£1,950
Ubie Websites
Pay monthly
from £69 / monthNot published£828 or more£2,484 or more
Tada Websites
Launchpad, one-off
£750 one-offIncluded£860£1,100
Trades Digital
Draft-first build
£65 / month£250£1,030£2,590
Yell
Amplify, website bundled in
from £299 / monthDesign Fee, not published£3,588 or more£10,764 or more
Proxima Studio
Presence, Authority, Dominance
Not publishedNot publishedNot knowableNot knowable
Local Website Design Services
Managed websites
Not publishedNot publishedNot knowableNot knowable

Tada is the interesting row. It is the most expensive to start and the cheapest by a wide margin over three years, because after the build you are only paying £10 a month for hosting. It is also the only one of the nine that tells you it is not VAT registered, which it describes as a deliberate choice to keep prices down for startups. That means the £750 is the £750.

Two of the nine will not tell you the price

Proxima Studio and Local Website Design Services publish no website price anywhere on their own sites, and Proxima goes as far as naming three packages, Presence, Authority and Dominance, with timeframes attached and no figures at all.

Neither is a large company, and for a genuinely bespoke project a price set per customer is normal. For a five-page trade website it means you cannot compare before you commit to a conversation, which is a cost of its own.

Correction, 27 August 2026. This post originally said three of the nine published nothing and named Yell as one of them. That was wrong. Yell publishes four figures on business.yell.com, including Amplify "From £299 per month". I checked yell.com and not the business subdomain. The table, the counts and the verdict have been corrected, and there is now a full breakdown in what Yell charges for a trade website.

Yell is worth understanding separately rather than as a row in this table, because it is not selling the same thing. Its websites page says the 30-page site is included with the Amplify and Accelerate solutions at no extra cost, so there is no standalone website price to compare: you are buying managed marketing and the site comes with it. Priced as marketing that is defensible. Priced against the £49 a month specialists above, it is a different product entirely.

Ownership is where the cheap plans get expensive

The monthly fee tells you what a website costs to keep. The contract tells you what it costs to leave, and across these nine that second number varies far more than the first.

This is the part I would read first if I were buying, and it is buried on every one of these sites. Three examples from the nine, all quoted from their own pages.

12 monthsDigital Tradies: cancel inside the term and the website files are not transferred
Not statedMyTradeSite registers and manages your domain, with no stated transfer right
Day oneTRADESON registers the domain in your name and publishes £400 to buy the files

Digital Tradies is upfront about it, which is more than most manage. It asks for a twelve-month commitment to hold the £49, states that the files are not transferred if you cancel before that, and states that after twelve months the files are yours to keep. That is a clear deal and a tradesman can decide about it. What he cannot do is decide about it if he never reads it, and it is not on the pricing card.

MyTradeSite is the one I would ask hardest about. The offer includes a free .co.uk domain that MyTradeSite registers and manages on your behalf. That is convenient, and it is also the single most valuable thing you own online, because the domain is what every Google result, every van sticker and every business card points at. If it is registered to somebody else and there is no stated transfer right, moving is a negotiation rather than a decision. This is worth understanding properly before you sign anything, and I have written separately on who actually owns your domain name in the UK.

TRADESON, a small Edinburgh outfit, does the opposite and does it well. The domain goes in your name on day one, there is a published £400 price to take the files and host it yourself, and cancellation is thirty days' notice. You may or may not want what they build, but you can see exactly what leaving costs, which puts them ahead of firms several times their size.

What the headline monthly figure leaves out

Four things move the real number and none of them appear in the price a trade website company advertises: the setup fee, the minimum term, VAT, and who pays to renew the domain from year two.

Trades Digital advertises £65 a month, which reads as the second cheapest monthly figure on the list. It carries a £250 setup fee, charged after you approve a free draft, so year one is £1,030 and it is the most expensive of the six that publish. Nothing dishonest is happening. The two numbers just live in different places on the page.

Domain renewals are the other quiet one. TRADESON is the only provider of the nine that states the figure, at roughly £12 a year to the registrar from year two. On the others it is either included, unstated, or you find out later.

Nine questions to ask before you sign anything

Every one of these has a one-sentence answer, and any company that cannot give you all nine in writing has told you something useful about how the next three years will go.

1What is the total cost of year one?Including setup, VAT and the domain.
2What is the minimum term?And what happens on the day after it ends.
3Whose name is the domain registered in?It should be yours, from the first day.
4If I cancel, do I get the website files?Get the answer in writing before you pay.
5What does an edit cost?New phone number, new photographs, a price change.
6How many edits are included each month?Two a month runs out faster than it sounds.
7Who renews the domain from year two?And what does it cost.
8Can I see a site you built for my trade?Not a template, a live one with a real business on it.
9Is the price fixed or does it rise?Ask what it was twelve months ago.

If you want a longer version of this to work through before a call, the buyer's checklist for a trade website goes further, and there is a fuller argument about how to weigh one designer against another in choosing a website designer as a tradesman.

When not to buy from any of them yet

If you have no photographs of your own finished work, no Google Business Profile and no reviews, a website will not fix your enquiry count and none of these nine companies will tell you that.

A website is a place to send people and a thing for Google to find. If nothing points at it and there is nothing on it, it sits there. Three weekends spent photographing finished jobs, claiming your Google Business Profile and asking your last ten customers for a review will do more for a quiet British trade business than any of the plans in that table, and all three are free.

The order matters. Get the proof together first, then buy the site to put it on. Anyone selling you the site first is selling, not advising.

The verdict

On price, TRADESON and Digital Tradies are the two to beat. £639 and £588 in year one, both from small operations that publish their terms plainly. Tada wins on the long run at about £1,100 over three years if you are genuinely happy to maintain the content yourself. Trades Digital's free draft before any payment is a good offer badly signposted. Ubie cannot be judged properly, because the terms are not published and the pricing page returns an error. Yell is not really in this contest: from £299 a month buys managed marketing with a website inside it, not a website. And on the two that publish nothing, the honest verdict is that a five-page website for a sole trader is not a bespoke project and there is no good reason the price is a secret.

One thing I would take seriously as a buyer: while I was checking these, search results quoted a setup fee for Ubie and a build fee for TRADESON that both contradicted the providers' own live pages. This market moves and the comparison articles quoting it are stale. Read the actual page, and note the date you read it. If you want the wider picture on what these builds are worth, there is a worked case study of one real trade site and a breakdown of what a trade website costs in the UK.

UK trade website companies: FAQ

Who builds websites for UK tradesmen?

A mix of trade-specific pay-monthly companies, general small-business web studios and one large directory. On the pay-monthly side there are firms like Digital Tradies, MyTradeSite, TRADESON, Ubie Websites and Trades Digital, all selling a managed site for a recurring fee. Tada Websites sells a one-off build with cheap hosting bolted on. Yell no longer sells a website on its own: its 30-page site is bundled into marketing solutions that start at £299 a month. Sitework, which is me, sits in the pay-monthly group. Independent local web designers are the other route and they rarely publish prices at all.

How much does a tradesman website cost per month in the UK?

Between £45 and £69 a month across the British companies that publish a figure, read on 25 August 2026. TRADESON is £45 a month after a £99 build fee, Digital Tradies and MyTradeSite are both £49, Trades Digital is £65 after a £250 setup, and Ubie Websites advertises from £69. Sitework is £50 every four weeks with no build fee. The monthly figure on its own is misleading, because setup fees and minimum terms change year one considerably.

Do I own the website if I pay monthly?

It depends entirely on the provider, and this is the term worth reading before the price. Digital Tradies states that if you cancel inside twelve months the website files are not transferred to you, and that after twelve months the files are yours. MyTradeSite registers and manages your domain and does not state a transfer right. TRADESON registers the domain in your name from the start and publishes a £400 figure to buy the files outright. Ask, and get the answer in writing.

Why do some UK website companies not publish their prices?

Usually because the price is set per customer on a call rather than fixed. Two of the nine companies I checked publish no figure anywhere on their own site: Proxima Studio and Local Website Design Services. Proxima names three packages with timeframes and no numbers at all. It is not automatically a bad sign for a bespoke project, but for a five-page trade website it means you cannot compare before you commit to a conversation.

Is a one-off build cheaper than a monthly plan for a tradesman?

Over three years, often yes, provided nothing needs changing. Tada Websites charges £750 for its entry build plus £10 a month for hosting, which is about £1,100 across three years against roughly £1,700 to £1,800 for the cheaper monthly plans. The catch is that a one-off build usually leaves the updating with you, and a trade website that is never updated stops matching the work you actually want. Price the maintenance, not just the build.

Sources
  1. Digital Tradies, homepage and pricing, for the £49 Standard and £79 Pro monthly plans, £0 upfront, the twelve-month commitment, and the statement that website files are not transferred on cancellation inside the term and are the customer's to keep afterwards. Read 25 August 2026. digitaltradies.com
  2. TRADESON, homepage, for the £99 build fee, £45 monthly management, the £400 outright option with self-hosting, thirty days' notice, the domain registered in the customer's name, two included updates a month and the approximate £12 annual domain renewal. Read 25 August 2026. tradeson.co.uk
  3. MyTradeSite, homepage, for £0 setup, the £49 monthly plan, month to month cancellation, the fourteen day free trial, and the free .co.uk domain registered and managed by MyTradeSite. Read 25 August 2026. mytradesite.uk
  4. Trades Digital, homepage, for the £250 one-off setup charged after draft approval and the £65 monthly care fee. Read 25 August 2026. trades-digital.co.uk
  5. Tada Websites, homepage, for the £750 Launchpad, £1,000 Traction and £1,250 Velocity one-off builds, the £10 monthly hosting after thirty days free, and the statement that the company is not VAT registered. Read 25 August 2026. tadawebsites.com
  6. Ubie Websites, homepage, for "Pay Monthly Websites from £69 per month" and the absence of any published setup fee, minimum term or ownership terms. The site's own pricing page returned a 404 error. Read 25 August 2026. ubiewebsites.co.uk
  7. Proxima Studio, homepage, for the three named packages, Presence, Authority and Dominance, listed with timeframes and no prices. Read 25 August 2026. proximastudio.co.uk
  8. Local Website Design Services, homepage, for the reference to "clear pricing" with no figures published. Read 25 August 2026. localwebsitedesign.services
  9. Yell for Business, homepage and websites page, for Amplify "From £299 per month", Accelerate "From £699 per month", and the 30-page website "Included with Amplify and Accelerate at no extra cost". Re-checked 27 August 2026 on the business subdomain, correcting this post's original claim that Yell published no price. business.yell.com
Done-for-you · £50 every four weeks

Compare me against the other eight. See the mockup first

Send me your trade and the towns you cover and I will build a free mockup of your actual business before you pay anything. No deposit and no build fee: £50 every four weeks covers the site, hosting, the domain and unlimited small edits, with three months minimum and then rolling. If you do not like the finished site your first payment comes back, and after twelve months the website and the domain are yours to keep with no exit fee. Live in about a week.